Tags

, , , , ,

One of the ways I “spoil” myself is by taking full advantage of unusual ingredients when they happen to become available.  Take, for instance, the pomegranate recently bestowed upon me.  I shredded some cabbage and blended up some avocado with olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and a bit of ranch dressing to make up a creamy avocado coleslaw.  Dressed up with brilliantly crimson pomegranate seeds, it made for a fairly elegant lunch.  On the side, I added toasted garlic naan bread topped with wensleydale cheese and cranberries.  Does this sound like a meal made from food bank supplies?  Think not?  Think again.

Avocado Coleslaw with Pomegranate

Wensleydale Cheese with Cranberries on Garlic Naan Bread

While I stood in line for food this past week, I daydreamed of french toast.  There are not many choices among the weekly food bank supplies, though.  So, I convinced myself that the french toast dream would have to wait for another time.  Much to my surprise, however, eggs were available this week!  So, I grabbed a loaf of Trader Joe’s Omega Seed Bread.  Tonight, I decorated my french toast with the last of the pomegranate and some honey.  Cinnamon and almond milk made a nice gooey texture with the egg.  Sliced apple delightfully garnished the dish.  Who says you can’t have breakfast for dinner?  Who says it has to be dull and same ol’, same ol’ fattening and bad-for-you food?  The opportunist in me took advantage of all the fun ingredients at hand.

So, tell me: what would you make with your pomegranate?  How do you make your dishes colorful, nutritious and fun (whatever your source)?

