Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Chipotle scramble w/toasted pita & heirloom tomato

Part of the reason I haven’t been posting to Iron Shawna much lately is because I’ve gotten into a rut with my food.  Frankly, my catch-all for the majority of my meals is to make a stir fry.  I’ll alternate brown rice and quinoa as the bed that the stir fry rests upon.  The particular stir fry ingredients depend on what I receive that week.  But really, I’ve gotten bored.  When I’m bored, I tend to begin emotional overeating of other things (namely, prepackaged processed foods).  Is it any wonder that I feel awful these days?

This morning, however, I received a small spark of inspiration.  While the food itself wasn’t incredibly outlandish, the inspiration came from the idea of switching up the presentation.  Suddenly, my boring old eggs and toast became chipotle scramble and a side of toasted mini pita pockets stuffed with red heirloom tomatoes.  Basically, I switched around the color presentation and added a small amount of flavor to make my meal more interesting.  Maybe tomorrow, I’ll make green eggs by blending basil and kale with garlic and adding them to the eggs (sans oil, cheese or nuts that would make them pesto eggs with kale).  I can slice up yellow heirloom tomato for the balance of color.

I also have a fair amount of milk to drink before it spoils this week, and I recently received fruit that required immediate freezing before spoilage.  I don’t care for the taste of milk by itself and the freezer is close to overflowing, so I’m making daily smoothies that resemble a healthy homemade version of soft ice cream.  This was my most recent concoction to help distract me from prepackaged, processed foods:

1/3 cup chopped fresh pear
1/3 cup chopped frozen strawberries
1/3 cup sliced frozen apples
3/4 cup milk
1 Tbs plain rice protein powder

Throw everything together in a blender.  I happen to have a small blender that only has one setting and makes single serving portions.  Blend until frozen fruit chunks are either small enough to your liking or gone.  Remember that eating these quickly will give you an ice cream headache.  Enjoy!

What’s your favorite healthy substitute for junk food?  How do you keep yourself out of a food rut (or do you)?

